Home GK Details regarding Indian Independence-Asking for PSC Examinations

Details regarding Indian Independence-Asking for PSC Examinations

0 297

Civil Disobedience Movement(07/01/2016 B)

Mahatma Gandhi led the Civil Disobedience Movement that was launched in the Congress Session of December 1929 at Lahore.The aim of this movement was a complete disobedience of the orders of the British Government .During this movement,it was decided that India would celebrate 26th January 1930,meeting were held all over the country and the congress tricolor flag was hoisted.

Round Table Conference

Following the spread of Civil Disobedience Movement ,Round Table Conferences were arranged by the British and Gandhiji attended the second Round table conference at London.

Quit India Movement

In august 1942,Gandhiji started the Quit India Movementand decided to launch a mass civil disobedience movement called Do or Die call to force the British to leave India.

Indian National Army(INA)

Meanwhile Netaji subhash Chandra Bose,who stealthily ran away from the British detention in Calcutta,reached foreign lands and organized the Indian National Army(INA)to overthrow the British from India.

Cabinet Mission

Cabinet mission was sent to India in March 1946 which after a careful study of the Indian political scenario,proposed the formation of an interim Government and convening of a Constituent Assembly comprising members elected by the provincial legislatures and nominees of the Indian states.


Interim Government,1946

On September 2 1946 an interim Government was formed .Congress members led by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru joined it but the Muslim League did not as it withdrew its earlier acceptance of the Cabinet mission.

Formation of Constituent Assembly

A Constituent assembly was formed in July 1946,to frame the constitution of India and Dr.Rajendra Prasad was elected as its President.The constitution of India was adopted by the Constituent assembly on 26th November 1949.On January 26 1950,the Constitution came into force and Dr.Rajendra Prasad was elected the first President of India.

Mount Batten Plan 1947

In March 1947,Lord Mount Batten replaced Lord Wavell.He announced his plan on june 3,1947.It offered a key to the political and constitutional deadlock created by the refusal of the Muslim League to join the Constituent Assembly formed to frame the Constitution of India.Mount Battens formula was to divide India but retain maximum unity.He laid down detailed principles for the partition of the country and speedy transfer of political powers in the form of dominion status to the newly formed dominions of India and Pakistan .Its acceptance by the Congress and the Muslim League resulted in the birth of Pakistan.

Indian Independence Act,1947

British Parliament in july 1947,passed the Indian Independence act ,ordering the demarcation of the dominions of India and Pakistan by midnight of August 14-15,1947.


Leave a Reply