Home GK Tenure of Viceroys oF India before Independence-Asking for PSC Examinations

Tenure of Viceroys oF India before Independence-Asking for PSC Examinations

0 574

Viceroys Of India(08/01/2016)

Lord Canning(1856-1862):Immediately after Queen Victorias proclamation,Lord Canning was appointed the first viceroy of British India.Well known as a reflective and industrious person ,he tried to suppress the Indians after they were defeated in the revolt of 1857.During his tenure ,Indian Penal Code came into force.Also Indian council act of 1861 was passed by the British Parliament for setting up of legislative councils in the provinces.

Lord Elgin(1862-1863):Was a British colonial administrator and diplomat,best known as the Governor General of the rovince of Canada and Viceroy of India.The main event of his time was the Ambala Campaign in the Northwest frontier to suppress a tribal insurrection there.

Lord John Lawrence(1864-1869):Lawrence tenure witnessed a war with Bhutan and famine in Orissa.Friendly relations were deployed with Afghans.He was successful in defeating the Bhutanese.

Lord Mayo(1870-1872):During his tenure the government was decentralized .He improved the administration in the Andaman jail and made systems for the welfare of the prisoners.He also founded Mayo college at Ajmer.He is the only Viceroy who has been assassinated by an Indian.

Lord North Brooke(1872-1876):Import duties were lowered export duties were abolished during Brooke,s tenure.Following an intervention from the secretary of State Lord Salisbury,on his decision in Afghan matters he resigned his position in 1876.

Lord Lytton(1876-1880):Lytton held Durbar in Delhi to proclaim Queen Victoria as the Empress of India.The second Afghan war was fought during his governance which aroused wide criticism .The present provincial famine code is based upon the Famine committee reports Lyttons tenure.The Vernacular Press Act in 1878 and Indian Arms Act were passed during his time.In the field of financial reforms he brought reduction of import duties,financial decentralization and equality of tax duties.

Lord Ripon(1880-1884):This period saw a tint of progress with the passing of Factories Act ,1881 which was favourable to the employees.Ripon repealed the repulsive Vernacular Press Act of 1878.He also introduced a system of local self government.Lord Rippon passed the illbert Bill extending the jurisdiction of Indian magistrates over Europeans which made him popular with the Indians.

Lord Dufferin(1884-1888):During his administration,Burma was invaded and annexed to the British Empire.Indian National Congress was formed during his period.Dufferin appointed Public Service Commission in 1886.In order to safe guard the interest of farmers he passed the tenancy act.

Lord Landsdown(1888-1894):The Second Indian Council Act of 1892 was passed during this time .The Durand Line between India and Afghanistan as per Durand Treaty was drawn during his tenure.

Lord Elgin II(1894-1899):During his period,in 1896,great famine struck India

Lord Curzon(1899-1905):Swadeshi Movement and Partition of Bengal were the crucial events that his tenure witnessed.He brought about educational reforms by setting up the Raleigh Commission .Ancient monument Protection Act and the Punjab Land Act 1905 were passed during his time.

Lord Minto II (1905-1910):Muslim League was formed in 1906 during his time.He supported partition of Bengal and opposed Swadeshi Movement .His governance caused discontent among the people.The Minto-Morley reforms were passed during his time.

Lord Hardinge(1910-1916):Capital of India was shifted to Delhi during this time.

Lord Chelmsford(1916-1922):A number events that are marked in the history of Indian freedom struggle happened during Chelmsfords reign.The August declaration of 1917 ,passing of the Government of India Act of 1919,Jallianwala Bagh Massacre,Non-Co-operative Movemwent ,Rowlatt Act all took place during this phase.

Lord Irwin(1926-1931):Simon Commission was appointed during his tenure.The Congress passed the Independence Resolution Act ,Mahatma Gandhis Dandy March ,the Civil Disobedience Movement,and the first round table ,Conference took place during this time.

Lord Willingdon(1931-1936):This time saw the holding of the Second Round Table Conference.

Lord Linlithgow(1936-1943):The Cripps Mission failed and Quit India resolution was passed by the Congress during Linlithgows Viceroyalty.The second world war too broke out during this time .Muslim League leader Jinnah started demanding for a separate state of Pakistan for Muslims.

Lord Wavell(1944-1947):The procedure of framing of constitution began during Wavells tenure.The observation of Direct Action Day in Calcutta,by the Muslim League led to riots and bloodshed.The Prime Minister of England ,Clement atlee announced that the transfer of power would take place before June 1948.S

Lord Mountbatten(March 1947 August 1947):Mountbatten was the last Viceroy and first Governor General of free India.The partition of India was decided and the Indian Independence Act of 1947 was passed when Mountbatten was the Viceroy.After his retirement in June 1948,the first Indian Governor-General,C.Rajagopalachari assumed office.


Leave a Reply