Home CONSTITUITION Explaination About Indian Constitution-Points appearing for PSC Examinations

Explaination About Indian Constitution-Points appearing for PSC Examinations

0 588

Indian Constitution :Facts to Remember

It should be studied and understood clearing before writing any Kerala Public Service Examinations

For the philosophy underlying Indian Constitution we must look back to the historic Objectives Resolution of Nehru adopted unanimously by the Constituent Assembly on 22nd January 1947.

The Indian Independence Act ,1947

The British Parliament passed the Indian Independence Act 1947 on July 18,1947.The act provided that from 15th August 1947 ,in place of India as defined in the Government of India Act 1935,there would be set up two independent Dominions known as India and Pakistan and the Constituent Assembly of each was to have unlimited powers to frame and adopt any constitution and to repeal any Act of the British Parliament including the Indian Independence Act.

The Constituent Assembly of India

Members of Constituent Assembly were elected by the elected Legislative assemblies of the Provinces.A total of 292 seats were allotted to the British Indian Provinces and 93 seats ,in addition were set apart for the Indian States representatives in the assembly.Thus the total membership of the Constituent assembly was 385 and it was this body that was entrusted with the task of framing the new constitution for India.Rajendra Prasad was its President and another important member was Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel.The Drafting committee was chaired by Dr.B.R.Ambedkar and he was ably assisted by stalwarts like Alladi Krishnaswami Aiyar,N.Gopalaswamy Ayyengar,K.M.Munshi and T.T.Krishnamachari,among others.

The constituent Assembly held its first meeting on 9th December 1946 and took two years,eleven months and seventeen days to finalise the Constitution.The Assembly met on 14th November 1949 for the third reading and finished it on 26th November 1949 on which date it received the assent of the President.The final form of the Constitution had 395 articles and 8 schedules .The Constitution was formally inaugurated on 26th January 1950 which was the twentieth anniversary of the day on which the Indian National Congress adopted the Resolution on Purna Swaraj(Complete Independence)


Leave a Reply